50th Anniversary Celebration & Awards Ceremony

May 19, 2022 · 6:00 pm

Live! Casino & Hotel Maryland (Event Center)

(Event Center Directions and Parking)

Celebrating 50 Years of Advancing Justice

50th Anniversary Legacy of Leadership Award:

The Honorable Mary Ellen Barbera, Chief Judge (Ret.), Court of Appeals of Maryland

50th Anniversary Power of the Present Award:

The Honorable Adrienne A. Jones, Speaker, The Maryland House of Delegates

50th Anniversary Foundation of the Future Award:

Susan Francis, Executive Director, Maryland Volunteer Lawyers Service

Thank you to our 50th Anniversary Honorary Committee:

Co-Chairs: Hon. Kathleen O’Ferrall Friedman (Ret.) · Sally B. Gold, Esq. · Ginger Robinson, JD

Deborah Bacharach · Linda Barclay · Dean Rebecca Bainum · L. Tracy Brown · Hon. Pamila Brown · Bonnie Butler · Kathleen Cahill · Hon. Ben Cardin · Toi Carter · John Condliffe · Judith Shub-Condliffe · Sandy Daniels · Hon. Kathleen Dumais · Lynne Durbin · Susan Carol Elgin, Esq. · Phyllis Erlich · Hon. Deborah S. Eyler (Ret.) · Hon. James Eyler (Ret.) · Dorothy Fait · Jo Benson Fogel · Hon. Brian Frosh · Professor Michele Gilman · Sharon Goldsmith · Professor Leigh Goodmark · Hon. Ellen M. Heller (Ret.) · Hon. Shelly Hettleman · Ann Hoffman · Elizabeth E. Hogue, Esq. · Marla Hollandsworth · Hon. Barbara Kerr Howe · Professor Margaret Johnson · Lisae C. Jordan · Barrett King · Steven M. Klepper · Francine Krumholz · Deepti Kulkarni · Cheri Wyron Levin · Professor Susan Leviton · Cynthia Lifson · Meghan Marek · Michele McDonald · Sayra Wells Meyerhoff · Hon. Barbara A. Mikulski · Hon. M. Brooke Murdock (Ret.) · Professor Jane Murphy · Sheela Murthy · Hon. John Olszewski, Jr. · Jo-Ann Mayer Orlinsky · Kelly Powers · Hon. Mary Ellen T. Rinehardt (Ret.) · Elisabeth A. Sachs · Rebecca Salsbury · Lynn B. Sassin · Kathleen Shemer · Joan H. Sills · Claire A. Smearman, Esq. · Hon. Carol Smith (Ret.) · Gina Snee · Kelly T. Spencer · Gwen B. Tromley · Hon. Chris Van Hollen · Marla Zide, Esq.

Thank you to our 2022 Sponsors:

Advancing Justice Sponsors

Gallagher, Evelius & Jones · Open Society Foundations · Partnership Wealth Management · Transamerica Foundation Baltimore

Cocktail Hour Sponsor

Partnership Wealth Management

Celebrating Justice Sponsors

Bowie & Jensen · Brown, Goldstein & Levy · Gwen B. Tromley · King Hall · Kramon & Graham · Linda C. Barclay · Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr

Photography Sponsor

Petruzzo Photography

Friend of Justice Sponsors

American Cedar & Millwork · Jo Benson Fogel · Law Office of Marla Zide · Meghan and Charles Marek · Maryland Association for Justice · Minnesota Lawyers Mutual Insurance Company · Murthy Law Firm · Diana Philip · Planned Parenthood of Maryland

Media Sponsors

WYPR · The Daily Record Maryland · I95 Business

Purchase Raffle Tickets HERE. Event tickets no longer on sale. Raffle tickets on sale online through May 18th.

50th Anniversary Raffle Description

Please note that the fair market value of each event ticket is $100. The Women’s Law Center of Maryland is a registered 501c3 nonprofit. A copy of our current financial statement is available upon request.

Proof of vaccination will be required for guests at the entrance to the event, and masks will be required when not eating or drinking. We ask guests who are experiencing symptoms or have been exposed recently to COVID to refrain from attending. We care about you and your health, as well as the health of our entire community. We are very much looking forward to hosting you in the safest way possible, but of course, WLC will ultimately follow the guidance and requirements of public safety experts and officials in making any decisions about the event.

Venue Information (Parking & Directions to the Event Center at the Live Casino)

Please contact tstjohn@wlcmd.org or 410.321.8761 with questions.


2021 Annual Dinner & Awards Ceremony

Help us celebrate another successful year and honor Maryland’s exceptional leaders.

Wednesday, April 28, 2021
7-8:15 pm via Zoom

Join us as we honor three exceptional leaders who have made lasting impacts in the areas of family law, women’s rights, and access to justice in Maryland:

Rosalyn B. Bell Award:

Sheila K. Sachs

In Memoriam for Lifetime Achievement

Access to Justice Award:

Sherrilyn Ifill

NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund

Dorothy Beatty Memorial Award:

Nicole Hanson-Mundell

Out for Justice

Thank you to our 2021 Sponsors:

Advancing Justice Sponsors

Susan Carol Elgin, Esq. and Kaufman, Ries & Elgin

Partnership Wealth Management

MurthyNAYAK Foundation

Celebrating Justice Sponsor

Gallagher, Evelius & Jones

Friend of Justice Sponsor

Bowie & Jensen

Saul Ewing Arnstein & Lehr

Turnbull, Nicholson & Sanders

Wine & Chocolate Sponsors

King Hall LLC

Law Office of Marla Zide, LLC

Sandy Daniels

Berger Cookies

Otterbein’s Cookies

Mary Sue Candy

Raffle Sponsors

Meghan Marek

Olivia Holcombe-Volke

Sandy Daniels

Gina Snee

Event Sponsors

Maryland Association for Justice · Minnesota Lawyers Mutual Insurance Company · NARAL Pro-Choice Maryland · Planned Parenthood of Maryland ·Frederick County Commission for Women

Sponsorship & Advertising Opportunities

For more information or to sponsor: tstjohn@wlcmd.org.

Award Descriptions

Event Program